T Minus 6 Hours

Well. It’s almost that time. I am mere hours away from departing for JFK, and I still have plenty to do before I go. But first, I have decided to sit for a little while and enlighten you.

I was under the impression that vaccines were optional, as stated in the information packet Miss Chloe so kindly mentioned in our interview. When it comes to vaccines, optional to me means entirely unnecessary. But then I read the fine print in the information packet, which noted that the Yellow Fever vaccine is obligatory if coming from certain countries, such as Mexico.

Reluctantly, I booked an appointment at the health center, where I learned that I would be receiving not only the Yellow Fever shot, but shots for Typhoid, Tetanus, Hepatitis A, and Hepatitis B as well. I was also to pick up a prescription for Malarone, malaria pills, on the following day–(which I have yet to do. The health center conveniently closed 4 hours early on the day I went to pick it up).

Here is a rather flattering picture of myself being brutally tortured:

A fever ensued the vaccines, and with it, a brief burst of delirium.

At the appointment, I was informed that I should take certain precautions, such as steer clear of raw vegetables and already-peeled fruits, and not to pet the monkeys or play with the rodents. The nurse repeated this part over and over again. “Don’t pet the monkeys. Don’t play with the rodents. Don’t pet the monkeys. Never pet the monkeys!”

Between you and me, now I kinda want to pet the monkeys.

Now, to put things in perspective:

  • Hours before I leave: 7
  • Hours I’ve slept since Monday: 6
  • Number of vaccines I received: 5
  • Boxes of granola bars I plan on stealing from Chloe: 4
  • Number of hours I’ll be on my first flight: 3 (times 5, so 15, but I’m going to keep telling myself 3 just so that I feel a little better.)
  • Number of copies I’ve made of my passport: 2
  • Number of things I have left to do before I leave:…..

The next time you hear from me, I may be on the other side of the world.

But more likely:

I’ll be right here, still procrastinating.

Until then: chouay!

About twobroadsabroad

Two New York students traveling to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Cam and Get it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

