Meet MJ

Allow myself. To introduce myself.

My name is Maria Jose, currently writing to you from my cozy little homeland of Mexico City.

So I’m off to Cambodia, traveling alongside my trusty companion, Miss Chloe, who organized the logistics for this voyage and positively begged that I hop on for the ride.

I will be flying from here to New York to take care of a few things prior to my trip: retrieve a police report to notify my fellow Cambodians that I am an honorable citizen, and be vaccinated against several deadly diseases including Yellow Fever and Typhoid—minor, minor details.

From there, I will enjoy a swift 14-hour flight to South Korea, where I will meet up with Miss C, and together we will venture to Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia. Chloe will be volunteering at an NGO, and I will be volunteering at an orphanage.

Have I ever traveled this far east? No. Have I ever ridden a tuk-tuk? No. Do I know how to say anything in Khmer? No. Did I just find out that Khmer is the language spoken in Cambodia?

Yes. Yes I did.

I’ll leave you with some facts about Phnom Penh, as outlined by the BBC:

  • Percent humidity: 83.
  • Average precipitation: 177 mm.
  • Level of discomfort from heat: Extreme.
  • Percent chance of my hair frizzing: a solid, well-rounded, 100%.

This is just the beginning. And I’m just one of the broads.  Stay tuned for photos, videos, and commentaries from Chloe herself.

Until next time–chouay!

About twobroadsabroad

Two New York students traveling to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Cam and Get it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

